Model United Nations at UCLA

Since 1950

Model United Nations at UCLA provides a forum for discussion of international relations and events through dynamic and academically stimulating simulation of the United Nations. We host two major Model UN conferences annually, and provide opportunities for members to travel nationally and internationally to compete in collegiate MUN conferences. MUN at UCLA holds weekly general meetings and frequent social events featuring guest speakers, conference and travel training, discussion of international events, and more.

Participation in Model UN activities promotes desirable and marketable traits such as public and impromptu speaking, networking, international engagement, and creative problem solving.

BruinMUN, our fall quarter high school conference, brings approximately 1000 high school students to UCLA for a weekend of debate, healthy competition, and fun. The conference, entering its 21st year, exposes high school students to UCLA and provides leadership experience for our staffers.

LAMUN, our spring quarter college conference, has an eight year history. Several hundred participants from dozens of domestic and international colleges and universities converge in Los Angeles annually to simulate UN style debate in a variety of unique, “crisis based” committees.

Our travel team is open to all and sends delegations to several conferences annually. Unlike many other MUN programs, members can try out for each conference.

Our primary goal is to continue growing and improving our conferences, travel team, and events. We strive to provide a consistently high quality experience at no cost to our members.

Model UN at UCLA is one of the few programs of its kind that not only hosts an annual high school (BruinMUN) and college conference (LAMUN), but also fields a competitive travel team. Throughout the year, delegates from MUN at UCLA train and travel to compete at conferences at other national and international universities.

Our Director of Travel Team (and Head Delegate) is Kunal Jhaveri. He can be reached at

2016-2017 Travel Team Destinations:

TrojanMUN, October 27th - October 30th, 2016

Head Delegates: Kunal Jhaveri, Rishi Bhargava, Shantam Jain

Team: Adarsh Balaji, Aditya Agarwal, Alex Bednar, Alex Guzaick, Arsal Zaheer, Ava Gerami, Axel Sarkissian, Elaine Miao, Ethan Dodd, Jimmy Mroz, Joshua DeAnda, Justin Schmerler, Justin Van Ligten, Kunal Jhaveri, Malvika Varma, Marcos Cardenas, Noemi Ruiz, Rishi Bhargava, Ryan Carr, Shankar Chelliah, Shantam Jain, Shushan Ginosyan, Virginia Su


1. Elaine Miao – Best Delegate, Gotham
2. Justin Schmerler – Best Delegate, Ukrainian Cabinet
3. Rishi Bhargava – Best Delegate, JCC: Trojan War, Troy
4. Shantam Jain – Best Delegate, Petrobras Board of Directors
5. Ava Gerami – Outstanding Delegate, JCC: Trojan War, Greeks
6. Ethan Dodd – Outstanding Delegate, Petrobras Board of Directors
7. Noemi Ruiz – Outstanding Delegate, WHO
8. Adarsh Balaji – Honorable Mention, JCC: Trojan War, Troy
9. Axel Sarkissian – Honorable Mention, LA 2024
10. Ryan Carr – Honorable Mention, European Union
11. Aditya Agarwal – Verbal Mention, SOCHUM
12. Marcos Cardena – Verbal Mention, Gotham
13. Shankar Chelliah – Verbal Mention, Piracy
14. Shushan Ginosyan – Verbal Mention, ICTY

SBIMUN, November 6th - November 8th, 2016

Head Delegates: Kunal Jhaveri, Rishi Bhargava, Shantam Jain

Team: Benjamin Lee, Zain Khalifeh, Niraj Mehta, Kunal Jhaveri, Ilana Golub, Sanjay Pitchai, Axel Sarkissian, Aditya Deshpande, David Clymer, Prannoiy Chandran, Marcos Cardenas, Nick Meyer, Christine Tran


15134528_10209741216240305_1128748618213642633_n (2).jpg


UCLA: Best Small Delegation

1. Niraj Mehta  (Italy) - Best, ICAO
2. Ilana Golub (Italy) - Best, UNEP
3. Aditya Deshpande - (USA) - Best, UNSC
4. Axel Sarkissian (Robert Dudley) - Best, 2010 BP Oil Spill
5. Zain Khalifeh (Italy) - Outstanding, DISEC
6. Kunal Jhaveri (USA) - Outstanding, UNEP
7. Sanjay Pitchai - (Paul Anderson) - Outstanding, 2010 BP Oil Spill
8. Benjamin Lee (USA) - Honorable, DISEC
9. Christine Tran (USA)- Honorable, ICAO
10. David Clymer (Italy) - Verbal Mention, JRCC EU
11. Prannoiy Chandran (Romania)- Verbal Mention, JRCC EU
12. Marcos Cardenas (Morocco)- Verbmal Mention, JRCC OIC




Powered by Squarespace.